Trudy Rayner Memorial Scholarship

The Trudy Rayner Memorial Scholarship was established in 2001 following Trudy's sudden and unexpected death.  

In 1998 Trudy was awarded Life membership of GENCA in recognition of her enormous contribution to the organisation.  After joining in 1985, Trudy held numerous official positions at both state and national level and co-authored many of the documents, guidelines and standards that guide gastroenterological nursing practice today.

Trudy was passionate about the direction of the organisation and acted as a mentor and role model for many gastroenterology nurses.  Her warmth, friendliness, humour, dedication and infectious personality allowed her to practice both the art and science of nursing as a profession.

This prestigious memorial scholarship is awarded annually to a GENCA member to support their educational development or to investigate a practice setting.


Applicants must:

  • Complete an application form available here or from the GENCA office at or 1300 788 155
  • Be a current GENCA member with a minimum membership of three (3) years
  • Be currently and predominantly employed to provide clinical care and/or management within a gastroenterology setting.

The scholarship, for a minimum of $2,000 is for the sole purpose of supporting a GENCA member to:

  • Attend an international gastroenterology nursing conference, or
  • Support national or international sabbatical leave with the prime intent of investigating a gastroenterology nursing practice setting that is recognised by the GENCA Board, or
  • For another purpose deemed worthy of the intent of this award by the GENCA Board.

The funding must be used within 12 months of notification of receipt of the Scholarship.

Applications close on 31 August each year.

Past recipients

2014 Lea Wiggins
2013 not awarded
2009 Lynn Rapley
2008 Michelle Muir
2005 Bronwyn King
2003 Dianne Jones
2002 Linden Gotch