Dianne Jones Scholarship

The Dianne Jones Scholarship was established in 2011 in recognition of Dianne's dedication to GENCA and the provision of education for gastroenterology nurses.  Dianne was awarded Life membership of GENCA for her enormous contributions to the organisation.  Dianne was one of the people who set up the organisation in 1977 and holds membership number 1. Dianne has held numerous official positions at state, national and international level.  Many of the documents, guidelines and standards which guide gastroenterological nursing practice today were co-authored by Dianne, and she has been instrumental in developing the tertiary gastroenterology courses now available.  She has always been passionate about the direction of GENCA and has acted as a mentor and role model for numerous gastroenterology nurses.

This prestigious scholarship is dedicated to Dianne's hard work and is awarded to enhance the educational development of a GENCA member.  The scholarship, of a maximum of $10,000 will be awarded for the sole purpose of paying the course provider for a GENCA member to complete tertiary education studies at graduate certificate, graduate diploma or masters level.  There will be two (2) instalments over the academic year, one (1) per semester.  The second instalment will only be paid to the course provider if the recipient has successfully completed the first semester and intends to continue with the course.


Applicants must:

  • Complete an application form available here or from the GENCA office at admin@genca.org or 1300 788 155
  • Be a current GENCA member with a minimum membership of three (3) years
  • Be currently and predominantly employed to provide clinical care and/or management within a gastroenterology setting.

Applications must include:

  • An outline of the course to be studied
  • A copy of the complete course application form
  • Current practicing certificate number
  • Current curriculum vitae, including qualification, broad nursing experience, relevant specific gastroenterology nursing experience.

Applications close on 31 August each year.

Past recipients

2016 Paris Tavakoli
2015 No applications received
2014 Jacky Burgess
2013 Jomon Joseph